The Centre was opened in January 1965. The building it replaced was the former War Memorial Child Welfare Centre which was opened in November 1926 by Neville Chamberlain, the then Minister of Health.
The modern Health Centre was built on land which had been occupied since 1940 by corrugated Nissan huts, erected for the army. It was in these huts that the town's first Welsh Language Primary School was opened in 1949. It remained there until it moved in 1963 into a new building beside the River Creuddyn which was culverted in 1973 in Cwm Road. Another of the huts was taken over in 1952 for the foundation of the Llandudno Hotel and Catering School. Since 1964 this has been located at Llandrillo Technical College.
Original Index No. D0863.