This marks the site of 'Y Hen Dafarn', an original 17th century Llandudno inn. In the 1616 Act it was licensed as owned by James the Scot. Behind it, known today as Lwynon Gardens, was Tan y Berllan, the original village square. In 1688, a Mr. Thompson, Licensee, was believed to be a Jacobite spy and may well have been John the Scot's descendent.
Original Index No. D0107.