The Eastern shoulder of the Little Orme includes the old quarry and the gun emplacements of the Coast Artillery School.
The Coast Artillery School courses began in Llandudno on 24 September 1940 and the first students arrived on 17 September 1940. By 1942, the School was organised into a Gunnery Wing, Wireless (Radar) Wing, Twenty First Coast Battery (Demonstrations, Trials and Experiments), Administrative Wing and Workshops. About this time a Coast Training Regiment was included in the School and remained there until the Summer of 1944.
Original Index No. E0049.