The photograph shows the Main Street through the town with the shops, hotels etc. showing the importance of the tourist trade in the area.
A lease was signed in 1914, effective from 1 November 1912, which referred to the 'Peculiar position and special attractions of Betws-y-Coed as a holiday and health resort'. It directed that all the benefits should be secured for the welfare and progress of the village. The lease was renewed in 1933 and again, by the 3rd Earl, in 1954. With more than 400,000 people a year visiting the famous falls it was no secret that the Urban District Council derived a substantial income from the lease, so much so that for their last year of existence, ending on 1 April 1974, the Council made national history by abolishing their rate which, at 4 pence in the pound for 1972-1973, was already the lowest in Britain.
Original Index No. T0051.