The Hydro Hotel was opened in 1860 by a Dr. Norton but progress was slow until in 1872 Dr. Henry Thomas took over. When the National Registration of Doctors took over in 1858, the Medical Registrar refused to recognise Dr. Thomas's Diploma of a M.D. awarded in 1855 by the Homeopathic College of Pennsylvania. However, Dr. Thomas described himself as a Doctor of Medicine. At his Llandudno Hydropathic Establishment he offered a wide range of treatment and a shilling book of cures written by himself.
[N.B. See also CX7185: his collected papers in Conwy Archive]
Original Index No. D0201.