Llandudno Town Hall

Scope and Content

The Town Hall stands in Lloyd Street, the product of a £50 prize in an architectural competition in 1894. It was intended to be a £10,000 edifice in the English Renaissance style. It emerged eight years, two law suits and three builders later as a conglomeration of the stark and the flamboyant such as only the late Victorian architects were capable of producing. One of the first meetings to be held in the Hall was a Government inquiry into the cost which had risen to twice the original estimate. The Foundation Stone was laid on the 26 October 1899 and the building was opened on the 10 February 1902. The first Town Hall was at 70 Church Walks from 1854 until 1902. The new Town Hall was designed by T. B. Silcock.

Original Index No. D0188.