The hotel was opened in 1854 and was the first modern building on the Promenade. It was built for Isaiah Davies, aged 24, who was born on the Little Orme. He married the daughter of the owner of the King's Head, Ann Owen, when she was 24 and he was 19. He obtained the plot by cancelling Lord Mostyn's Agent's drinking debt. The Hotel was extended several times. The town's first bus service began in 1856 to Conwy Station. Napoleon III; Empress Eugenie; Bismarck; Disraeli and Gladstone have all stayed there.
Original Index No. D0066.