The Independent, or Congregationalist Cause at Betws-y-Coed, dates from about 1802 when the Rev. Azariah Shadrach (1774-1844) of Trefriw held services at local farmhouses. Like the Presbyterians, this cause flourished under the influence of a woman, the Maentwrog born wife of William Hughes, Gartheryr. Temporarily abandoning the Calvanistic Methodists, Hughes initiated the building of the first Congregationalist Chapel in 1842. The present chapel was built on the same site in 1870.
Original Index No. T0053.