There has probably been a crossing here since Roman times. The bridge bears the date 1636 and it believed to have been built by Sir Richard Wynn and designed by Inigo Jones. In 1703 it is recorded that in 1636 the bridge was rebuilt but the earlier bridge was probably timber.
The bridge is known as the Bridge of Pearl and it is also known as the Buttermilk Bridge. It was called the Buttermilk Bridge because workmen were forbidden to drink mead and the only drink permitted was buttermilk.
Original Index No. R0046.