This position of the river was originally crossed by stepping stones. The First World War brought a Company of Royal Engineers to Betws-y-Coed and they built a temporary footbridge behind the Railway Station (Sapper's Bridge). By 1928 the bridge had been swept away during heavy flooding and it was replaced in 1930 by the present suspension bridge built by D. Rowell and Co. Ltd.
Original Index No. T0033.