The Church was built as a replacement for St. Tudno's Church on the Great Orme which was the Parish Church until 1840, when St. George's was built. The small St. Tudno's Church proved to be much too small for Llandudno and its rapidly growing population. St. George's was paid for largely by [anonymous] contributions from the brothers Archibald and William Worthington, lessees of the Old Mine. It was designated the Parish Church in 1862 but has since been made redundant.
Original Index No. D0854.