Capri, No. 70 Church Walks was the first Town Hall from 1854 to 1902. The present Town Hall stands on Lloyd Street, the product of a £50 prize in an architectural competition of 1894. Intended to be a £10,000 edifice in the English Renaissance style, it emerged eight years, two law suits and three builders later as a conglomeration of the stark and the flambuoyant, such as only the later Victorian architects were capable of producing. One of the first meetings to be held within its portals was a Goverment Inquiry into the cost, which had risen to twice the original estimate.
The Foundation Stone was laid on 26 October 1899 and the building was opened on 10 February 1902. From the first meeting in the Council Chamber it was discovered that the accoustics were unsatisfactory, a problem which has never been resolved.
Llandudno's Memorial to Queen Victoria is in the form of a brass plaque in the foyer.
Original Index No. D0930.