The photograph shows Llandudno Fire Brigade with its horse and ladder taken before the Great War. It can be dated in this way because the firemen are not wearing any War Medals.
Llandudno's Fire Station was opened in 1970 to replace the original 1877 Station. Among the relics preserved is a heavy brass bell inscribed 'Llandudno Fire Bell, 1861', which spent most of its life at the end of the Pier, until removed during the construction of the present landing stage in 1969. How it got to the Pier is a mystery.
A five man volunteer Fire Brigade was formed in Llandudno as long ago as 1854, equipped with ladders and hose which were later stored in a vault under the market. Agitation for something better began in 1874 and three years later, a horse drawn Merryweather Hand Pump was installed in a new building in Market Street. This was replaced by a steam pump christened 'The St. Tudno' in 1882 and which served until the arrival of a petrol driven fire engine in 1925. The present Fire Station is in Conwy Road.
Original Index No. D0816.