Society records of the Methodist Church, Strensall Methodist Church

Scope and Content

Records of Trustees, including meeting minute books, 1901-1944, and treasurer's accounts, 1874-1910; financial records, including balance sheet, 1897, general account book, 1974-1988, financial statements, 1988, weekly offerings register, 1962-1988, and Society fund account book, 1963-1974.

Unlisted material.

Administrative / Biographical History

A Wesleyan Methodist chapel was built in Church Lane, Strensall, in 1823.

In 1895 the chapel was seriously damaged in a fire and the decision was made replace it entirely. The new red brick chapel opened in 1896 and consisted of two rooms, a chapel and a schoolroom, with seating for 120 worshippers. The old chapel on Church Lane was subsequently known as St Mary's Hall and was used for religious and temperance meetings.

A hall was added to the rear of the chapel in 1993 and the whole building was later renovated and re-opened in 2007.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, Strensall Chapel joined York, New Street Circuit (later renamed Clifton Circuit) in 1867. Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist Churches in 1932, it continued as part of the York, Clifton Circuit of what was now a unified Methodist Connexion. In 1957 it became part of York, Clifton & Monkgate Circuit and from 1972 it was part of York, North Circuit.

As of 2016 the chapel is still in use. Since 2012 it has been part of the York Circuit of the Methodist Connexion.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1993. A further addition was made to the archive in 2014.

Note

A Wesleyan Methodist chapel was built in Church Lane, Strensall, in 1823.

In 1895 the chapel was seriously damaged in a fire and the decision was made replace it entirely. The new red brick chapel opened in 1896 and consisted of two rooms, a chapel and a schoolroom, with seating for 120 worshippers. The old chapel on Church Lane was subsequently known as St Mary's Hall and was used for religious and temperance meetings.

A hall was added to the rear of the chapel in 1993 and the whole building was later renovated and re-opened in 2007.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, Strensall Chapel joined York, New Street Circuit (later renamed Clifton Circuit) in 1867. Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist Churches in 1932, it continued as part of the York, Clifton Circuit of what was now a unified Methodist Connexion. In 1957 it became part of York, Clifton & Monkgate Circuit and from 1972 it was part of York, North Circuit.

As of 2016 the chapel is still in use. Since 2012 it has been part of the York Circuit of the Methodist Connexion.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1993. Later material has not yet been listed, please contact the Institute for more information.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 28.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

Circuit records for the York Circuit and York, New Street (renamed Clifton Circuit) of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion and the York, Clifton; York, Clifton & Monkgate; and York, North Circuits of the Methodist Connexion are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute. These all form a single archive: Circuit records of the Methodist Connexion, York (New Street) Circuit (MRC/1).

Additional Information

Published

GB193