Faculty Board of Education

Administrative / Biographical History

The Faculty Board of Education had its origins in the Teachers' Training Syndicate which was established in 1878 to arrange lectures, organise examinations and award certificates of competence for would-be school teachers. In 1891 the University of Cambridge set up a Day Training College under the supervision of the Syndicate, and until the First World War students reading for degrees in the usual way might concurrently take professional courses and the government teacher's certificate at the College (its name changed in 1911 to the Cambridge University Training College for School Masters). Thereafter, certification shifted to a graduate programme for the award of the Certificate in Education. The study of Education did not return to the undergraduate syllabus until 1971, in the guise of the Examination in Education. The Teachers' Training Syndicate became the Education Syndicate in 1939, and was reconstituted as the Faculty Board of Education in 1968.

The Faculty Board was responsible for ensuring that teaching within the faculty was appropriate and of a high standard. It received information, advice and recommendations from University-level bodies and from various sub-committees, and also took account of external developments, considering recommendations and requirements of any associated Professional, Statutory or Regulatory Bodies.

During the late-1960s and early-1970s, the main preoccupation of the Faculty Board was the introduction of the Examination in Education.

The Principal of Bedford College of Physical Education, Eileen Alexander, and her successor, Patricia Bowen-West, were members of the Faculty Board.