In 1957 Bedfordshire County Council purchased land that had once belonged to the Lords of the Manor of Biddenham. The site was developed to provide playing field facilities for Bedford College of Physical Education, Mander College, and some primary and secondary schools. Hockey pitches, cricket tables, hard tennis courts and netball pitches became available for use by the College in September 1964. In January 1975 the County Council took the decision to build a school on part of the site which subsequently became known as the John Howard Upper School.
Biddenham Playing Field
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 3449 BPEA EST 4/2
- Dates of Creation1959 - 1977
- Physical Description2 folders
- Direct Link