Ruthin Rural District Council, records of

Scope and Content

Ruthin Rural District Council, Denbighshire, was established under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1894. It contained the parishes of Aberwheeler, Clocaenog, Derwen, Efenechtyd, Gyffylliog, Llanarmon-yn-Iâl, Llanbedr, Llandegla, Llandyrnog, Llanelidan, Llanfair DC, Llanferres, Llanfwrog Rural, Llangwyfan, Llangynhafal, Llanrhaeadr Rural, Llanrhydd Rural, Llanychan, Llanynys and Nantglyn. In 1935, Bryneglwys was transferred to the district from Llangollen rural district, while the parishes of Llangwyfan, Llanrhydd Rural, and Llanychan ceased to exist. The council was composed of councillors and a chairman, elected for three years. They originally took over responsibility for local sanitation from the local sanitary authorities and their responsibilities included sanitary services, sewerage, refuse collection, maintaining local roads, cemeteries, parks, and licensing of public entertainments, water supply and later housing. Rural District Councils were administered by a number of committees and by appointed officers including a Clerk, Treasurer, Public Health Inspector, Housing Officer, Surveyor and Rating Officer. Ruthin Rural District Council was abolished after local government reorganisation in 1974, being mainly absorbed into Glyndwr District Council.

Records of Ruthin Rural District Council, 1889-1979, comprising records of the Clerk's department, 1896-1974, including Council minutes, 1896-1974, rating committee minutes, 1927-1954, licensing registers, 1924-1966, and photographs, 1912-[1960]; Treasurer's records, 1903-1979, including ledgers, 1903-1912, 1946-1974, parochial ledgers, 1921-1974, financial statements, 1920-1974, cash books, 1943-1948, and collection and debit accounts for Ruthin RDC and Glyndwr District Council, 1971-1979; Rating Officer's records, 1889-1974, including valuation lists, 1897, general valuation lists, 1929-1973, rate books, 1914, 1926, 1972-1974, and rate account books, 1929-1967; Housing Officer's records, 1920-1947; Surveyor's maps, 1900-[c. 1970], and papers relating to Llandyrnog water committee, 1912-1920.


Arranged by deposit and type into the following: Clerk; Treasurer; Rating Officer; Housing Officer; and Surveyor; Housing Officer; Surveyor to Llandyrnog water committee and photographs.

Access Information

This collection is open for research. It is advisable to book in advance, for details and opening hours see Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Denbighshire Archive Service will advise where this is the case.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply