Two logbooks, for Beaumaris Primary School, 1880-1902 and evening school, 1907-1910.
Beaumaris Primary School Logbooks
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 222 BMSS BLBS
- Dates of Creation1880-1910
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description2 items
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Board School, situated at New Street in the town of Beaumaris, northern Anglesey provided education for girls and boys at primary level in accordance with the Elementary Education Act of 1870. It also offered a range of evening classes in arithmetic, reading, composition, needlework, household management, shorthand, drawing, music and commercial practice etc. The school was administered for the municipal borough of Beaumaris by a school board. Teaching staff c. 1880-1910 included John Roberts, E. Marshall, M.A. Williams, Mary O' Connor and Jane Owen.
Material is arranged in chronological order and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts .
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users
Description compiled by Anne Lenaghan, July 2002.
Other Finding Aids
Item level word-processed list is available at the Archives Department, University of Wales, Bangor. Reference numbers: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts: 1631-1632
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.