Lease: British Gynaecological Society

Scope and Content

Signed and sealed lease between the Royal Medical and Chirurgical Society of London and the British Gynaecological Society, for the use by the British Gynaecological Society of a small front room at 20 Hanover Square for meetings, at a rent of £105 per year, signed by the Royal Society's President, Edward Sieveking, and including a small coloured ground plan of the premises.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Medical and Chirurgical Society of London was a learned society of physicians and surgeons which was founded in 1805, "for the purpose of conversation on professional subjects, for the reception of communications and for the formation of a library" and served "several branches of the medical profession".

In 1834 the Society received a Royal charter, thus becoming the Royal Medical and Chirurgical Society of London. This society merged with several other specialist societies, from 1907 to 1909, to form the current Royal Society of Medicine.

The societies which merged to form the Royal Society of Medicine were:Pathological Society of London (1846-1907), London Epidemiological Society (1850-1907), Odontological Society of Great Britain (1856-1907), Obstetrical Society of London (1858-1907), Clinical Society of London (1867-1907), Dermatological Society of London (1882-1907), British Gynaecological Society (1884-1907), Neurological Society of London (1886-1907), British Laryngological, Rhinological and Otological Association (1888-1907), Laryngological Society of London (1893-1907), Society of Anaesthetists (1893-1908), Dermatological Society of Great Britain and Ireland (1894-1907), British Balneological and Climatology Society (1895-1909), Society for the Study of Diseases in Children (1900-1908), British Electrotherapy Society (1901-1907), and Therapeutical Society (1902-1907).

Access Information


Custodial History

From the library and collection of Professor Roy Dobbin