Estate records of the Danyrallt estate, and, to a lesser extent, of the Cynghordy estate, comprising deeds and correspondence, 1523-1956, wills, 1561-1856, marriage settlements, 1561-1829; rentals, [c. 1690]-1829, day-work books, 1850-1865, diaries, 1843-1893, and pedigrees, plans and surveys, [2nd half 17th cent]- [early 20th cent].
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 211 CYNGHORDY
- Dates of Creation1523-1956
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.43 cubic metres (36 boxes)
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Cynghordy, in the parish of Llanfair-ar-y-bryn in Carmarthenshire, was anciently the home of the Gwynn family. This family failed in 1769 with the death of William Gwynn, who left six daughters. Thereafter, Cynghordy passed through several hands, including G. V. Lloyd, and his son John Lloyd. Cynghordy is a slight misnomer for this archive, as most of the records relate to the Lloyd family of Danyrallt (originally known as Llwyn y Berllan or Dirleton), in the parish of Llangadog, Carmarthenshire, though, rather confusingly, until about 1628 Danyrallt was called Alltymeibion, after which the name was discontinued. The family estate was either founded, or very largely added to, by Ieuan Lloyd (fl. 1533-1558) of Alltymeibion, the son of Rhydderch ap Gwilym, apparently by buying leases of lands of the dissolved monastery of Talley. He was succeeded by his son, Morgan ap Ieuan Lloyd (d. pre-1567), who was succeeded by his son Thomas Lloyd (d. 1604), who both made additions to the estate. Thomas was succeeded by his son Francis Lloyd (d. pre-1659), a royalist in the civil war, who was succeeded by his son Thomas Lloyd (c. 1617-1672). This later Thomas continued to add to the estate. William Lloyd, who died unmarried in 1763, sold the Danyrallt estate to his brother Admiral William Lloyd. He died unmarried in 1796 and devised the Danyrallt estate to trustees for his kinsman Thomas Stepney (d. 1825), the youngest son of Thomas Stepney of Llanelli, baronet, and a succession of remainders. By 1825, several of these remainders had failed, and the estate devolved to John William Lloyd of South Park, Kent (d. 1870), the second son of John Lloyd (d. 1801) of Pembroke. The estate then passed to his eldest son John Phillips Lloyd (1808-1849) and then to his eldest son Howard Meuric Lloyd of Cynghordy (1853-1922). The estate was purchased by John Peel in 1881. It was he who renamed the estate Danyrallt. The Danyrallt mansion was accidentally burnt down during the Second World War.
Arranged into the following: deeds and documents, Danyrallt estate day-work books, and diaries.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited by Guy Vaughan Lloyd of Cynghordy
Compiled by Stephen Benham for the HMC/NLW Family and Estates project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this record: Green, Francis, 'Lloyd of Danyrallt', West Wales Historcal Records, vol. viii (1919-20); Carmarthen Record Office, Schedule of Cynghordy Muniments.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at the Carmarthenshire Archive Service, National Library of Wales and the National Register of Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at Carmarthenshire Archive Service have been retained
Accruals are not expected
Green, Francis, 'Lloyd of Danyrallt', West Wales Historical Records, vol. viii (1919-20), pp. 209-20.