Parish records of Bolton Percy

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1571-1992 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1798-1812); register of marriages, 1571-2016; register of burials, 1571-1991 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1792-1812, ages only 1792-1798; register of banns, 1823-1980; register of services, 1892-2005; communicants' rolls, 1897-1921, 1930-1939; register of Colton services, 1931-1961; records concerning benefice income, including books of tithe and other income accounts surveys, correspondence and other papers, 1577-1597, 1666-1717, detailed parish maps, 1596-1597, accounts of communicants' offerings, 1698-1842, accounts of Easter dues, 1718-1795, valuations of living, 1774, 1788, tithe papers, 1921, 1924, 1927, 1929, glebe papers, 1865, 1903-1945, and papers, 1927-1935, 1964-1966; charity records, including minutes of meetings, 1894-1939, accounts, 1866-1952, correspondence, 1895-1946, bonds for poor money, 1664-1679, division of alms, 1784, 1835, and papers, 1895-1897; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1679-1974, briefs, 1679-1773, fabric papers 1883, 1890, 1896-1954, papers in connection with pew dispute, 1598, notes of pew sales, 16th century-17th century, Colton mission chapel plan, 19th century, Appleton Roebuck township rate book, including amount assessed for churchwardens, 1825-1828, plan of church, 1973, churchyard papers, including grave plan, 1872, 1953, 1990, and photographs of church furnishings, c.1990; constables’ records, including Appleton Roebuck township account books, including constable's accounts, 1822-1832, 1835-1842; records of incumbents, including correspondence regarding suspensions of presentation, 1959-1972, dilapidations, 1941-1955, parsonage house papers, 1698, 1941, 1948, statistical returns, 1892-1898, 1906-1922, 1956, correspondence and papers, including papers of Robert Jarratt Crosthwaite, Bishop of Beverley and rector of Bolton Percy (1894-1908), 1894-1951, and curate's papers, 1974; overseers’ records, including Appleton Roebuck township rate book, including amount assessed for overseers, 1825-1829, and Appleton Roebuck township account books, including overseers' accounts, 1822-1832, 1835-1870; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including minutes of meetings and accounts of Association for Prosecution of Felons, 1825-1890, minutes of meetings and accounts of Burial Board, 1860-1861, minutes of meetings of Commissioners for Public Libraries and Museums of Bolton Percy, 1895-1939, with accounts, 1930-1939, Clothing and Coal Club rules, c.1870, and Coronation Committee minutes of meetings, 1952-1953; school records, including managers' minutes of meetings, 1953-1956, accounts, 1898-1942, correspondence and papers, 1936-1958, subscriptions, c.1790, Colton minutes of meetings, 1904-1947, Colton correspondence and papers, 1942-1952, and records and papers, 1904-1990, including admissions register, 1922-1979; surveyors’ records, including Appleton Roebuck township rate book, including amount assessed for surveyors of highways, 1825-1828, Appleton Roebuck township account books, including highway accounts, 1822-1832, 1835-1893; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including magazines, 1900, 1961-1969, 1982-1995, 1998-2009, deanery magazines, 1941-1942, map of Steeton, 1862, sale particulars of Nun Appleton estate, 1917, survey of public rights of way in parish, 1953, minutes of meetings, 1920-1993, and Silver Jubilee Committee papers, 1977.

Administrative / Biographical History

The existence of a church at Bolton Percy was recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century. In 1150 the patronage of the ‘Church of Bolton’ was transferred from the Priory of Nostell to the Archbishop of York and his successors. The lordship of the manor was held by the Percy family, from which the second part of the name is derived.

The present All Saints parish church was built by Thomas Parker, a rector of the parish who died in 1423. The church and churchyard were consecrated in 1424, the size and quality of the church building earning it the local title of ‘The Cathedral of the Ainsty.’ The rectory house was rebuilt c.1698. The church was restored in 1890 by architects Demaine and Brierley of York and is today notable for the survival of its Jacobean box pews.

The parish includes Bolton Percy, Colton, Hornington, Nun Appleton, Steeton and Street Houses. For much of its history it also included the village of Appleton Roebuck, but this separated to form its own parish in 1868. A second church, dedicated to St Paul, was built in Bolton Percy parish at Colton c.1899 by Demaine and Brierley.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1970 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1977, 1979, 1981, 1982, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1995, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2001, 2003, 2006, 2007, 2009 and 2017.

Note

The existence of a church at Bolton Percy was recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century. In 1150 the patronage of the ‘Church of Bolton’ was transferred from the Priory of Nostell to the Archbishop of York and his successors. The lordship of the manor was held by the Percy family, from which the second part of the name is derived.

The present All Saints parish church was built by Thomas Parker, a rector of the parish who died in 1423. The church and churchyard were consecrated in 1424, the size and quality of the church building earning it the local title of ‘The Cathedral of the Ainsty.’ The rectory house was rebuilt c.1698. The church was restored in 1890 by architects Demaine and Brierley of York and is today notable for the survival of its Jacobean box pews.

The parish includes Bolton Percy, Colton, Hornington, Nun Appleton, Steeton and Street Houses. For much of its history it also included the village of Appleton Roebuck, but this separated to form its own parish in 1868. A second church, dedicated to St Paul, was built in Bolton Percy parish at Colton c.1899 by Demaine and Brierley.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2017.

Alternative Form Available

Selected records, including registers of christenings, 1571-1900, marriages, 1571-1984, burials, 1571-1991, and banns, 1823-1900, churchwardens' accounts, 1679-1887, terriers, 1764-1825, tithe apportionments, 1843-1846, account books, 1718-1795, 1825-1890, and valuations, 1666-1788, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 644, 1594, 881, 1752, 1769).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 21.12.15

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

The parish officers' accounts for Appleton Roebuck, 1814-1822, can be found in the Gerald Downs Archive at the Borthwick Institute. These include the accounts of the Overseers of the Poor, the Constables and Highway Surveyors.

Records concerning Appleton Roebuck after 1850 can be found in the separate Parish Records of Appleton Roebuck with Acaster Selby at the Borthwick Institute.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193