Poetry Collections and Published Poems

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 206 Brotherton Collection MS 20c Blackburn/1
  • Dates of Creation
      c 1958 - 1988
  • Language of Material
  • Physical Description
      2 boxes; 36 files

Scope and Content

This subfonds contains items concerned with Thomas Blackburn's poetry collections and published poems. It includes corrected proof copies of published volumes of poetry collections, typescripts of collected poems and recordings of the poet reading his work. Royalty and publishing contracts are also held in this subfonds.


The subfonds is arranged accordingly: The Outer Darkness The Holy Stone In the Fire The Next Word A Smell of Burning A Breathing Space Gift of Tongues The Fourth Man The Devil's Kitchen Post Mortem Bread For the Winter Birds The Adjacent Kingdom Selected Poems Audio Recordings Other Published Poems, Reviews Etc Contracts and Royalties

Access Information

This collection has not been listed in detail and access to parts of it may be restricted under the Data Protection Act and other relevant legislation. If you would like to request access to any part of this collection, please contact Special Collections. Upon receipt of your request, a member of the team will discuss your requirements with you and review relevant material accordingly.

Conditions Governing Use

Material in this collection is in copyright. Photocopies or digital images can only be supplied by the Library for research or private study within the terms of copyright legislation. It is the responsibility of the researcher to obtain the copyright holder's permission to reproduce for any other purpose. Guidance is available on tracing copyright status and ownership.