Records of Neath Borough Council, c.1865-1996, including council and committee minutes, 1922-1974; Treasurer's records, 1952-1973; planning department records, c.1865-1974; photographs of charters relating to Neath [late 20th century]; copies of deeds relating to the manor of Neath Ultra and Cilybebyll, [late 20th century]; microfilms of deeds and papers relating to the Borough of Neath, [late 20th century]; microfilms of the papers of Sir Humphrey Mackworth of Knoll, [late 20th century].
Neath Borough Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Borough of Neath was created by charters in the 14th and 15th centuries. Borough government was reformed under the Municipal Corporations Act 1835, with the provision of elected councils and financial regulation. Neath Borough Council ceased to exist in 1974 and was replaced by Neath District Council.
Arranged into seven groups: Group one consists of Neath Borough Council minutes; Group two consists of photographs of charters and manorial deeds; Group three consists of Neath Borough deeds and Sir Humphrey Mackworth papers on microfilm; Groups four and five consist of Neath Borough Council Planning Department records; Groups six and seven consist of Neath Borough Council Treasurer's Department records.
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Neath Borough Records, catalogues; Collis, Kim, The West Glamorgan Archive Service, A Guide to the Collections (Swansea, 1998).
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service and the National Register of Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained.
Accruals are possible
Location of Originals
The originals of the microfilmed material is held by the Neath Antiquarian Society.