Records of the Emlyn Colliery and Brickworks, 1810-1948, including deeds relating to the Llangadock estate, 1810-1935; Llangadock estate accounts, 1938-1948; deeds relating to land in Llangefelach, 1904-1925; inventory of plant and machinery at Emlyn Colliery, 1905; blueprints and plans, 1915-[1960s]; accounts, 1925-1946; invoices, 1939-1944, subsidence claims, 1940; compensation forms, 1930s; fire and explosion reports, [1930s]; correspondence, 1890-1943; dispatch letters, 1939-1940; press cuttings, 1945; catalogues, 1930s; war pamphlets and letters, 1940-1946; and lantern slides of the colliery, [c. 1905].
Emlyn Colliery and Brickworks Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Coal mining began in the 1790s in Pen-y-groes, near Ammanford, Carmarthenshire, but it was not until 1893 that the Emlyn Colliery was built, and 1904 before the Emlyn Colliery Company was established. The owner was G. Aeron Thomas. The Emlyn Colliery closed in 1939, but the Emlyn Brickworks remained open until the mid-1990s. The Colliery was the place of a six week long strike in the summer of 1934, the miners being led by Arthur Horner.
The fonds is uncatalogued; it is arrnged into boxes.
Conditions Governing Access
Source not recorded
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Carmarthenshire Archives Service, Business Records; Davies, John, 'The Emlyn Colliery', Carmarthenshire Antiquary 30, pp. 136-138 (1994).
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the Box List is available at Carmarthenshire Archives Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records deposited at Carmarthenshire Archives Service have been retained.
The archive was kept in the family of G Aeron Thomas.
Accruals are not expected