Draft notes primarily concerned with the rules under which the Charity and its Trustees will operate, also includes some notes relating to the sale of property to raise £200 to build the almshouses and provide for the poor of Burton Agnes.
Burton Agnes Almshouses
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 50 U DX94
- Dates of Creation1714
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description2 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Burton Agnes lies on the southern edge of the Yorkshire Wolds nearly six miles from Bridlington. Listed in the Domesday Book, it has been known as either Agnes Burton or Burton Agnes and is believed to owe its name to Agnes the daughter of Geoffrey Baynard who married Robert de Brus who then became overlord of the manor in the late 11th century. The manor house built by Roger de Stuteville in the late 12th century stands beside the 17th century mansion, with the original manor subsequently becoming servant's quarters and is now managed by English Heritage. The almshouses, which stood on the south side of the Bridlington Road, were demolished in 1939 and replaced by Hill House.
Access will be granted to any accredited reader
Donated by Howard Colvin, St. John's College, Oxford, Sep 1974