Records of Manlove Alliot and Company Limited, Engineers, Nottingham, 1860-1957

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

The collection consists of seven series of records. The firm's accounts 1890-1952 are present. There is a run of correspondence, 1909-1942, chiefly to do with patenting, agreements and licensing. Drawing Office records include catalogues and product illustrations. There is a Register of Members 1896-1940, and two letters patent from 1874 and 1932. Records relating to the issue of shares, including share certificates, run from 1896 to 1951. The final, miscellaneous, section is comprised of printed company notices, 1860-1957.

There are accruals including an account book for 1952-58 and additional papers.

Administrative / Biographical History

Manlove Alliot and Company was founded in 1837 as a firm of general engineers, by two Nottingham businessmen, Edward Manlove and Alexander Alliott.

The factory was set up in Lenton, Nottingham, but later moved to what was then a relatively rural site at the Bloomsgrove Works, Radford. At this time its main product was a centrifugal hydro-extractor, used in the laundry, bleaching and dyeing industries, particularly in Yorkshire and Lancashire. The machinery was successfully adapted for sugar refining, with the result that most of the firm's early exports went to sugar planters in the West Indies.

By 1900, the firm was producing laundry machinery, hospital equipment and chemical apparatus. Its interests subsequently became more diverse, including disinfector machinery for hospitals.

The company continued to be successful after the second world war. In 1959 it was taken over by the Melbray group, and in 1969 manufacturing was transferred to Scotland, and the Ilkeston Road plant was closed. It is now the site of a small industrial estate.

Arrangement

Material is arranged chronologically within form series (accounts, correspondence etc.).

Conditions Governing Access

ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers

REPROGRAPHIC: Photocopies and photographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposes only, depending on the condition of the documents.

Other Finding Aids

NOTE: Copyright on all Finding Aids belongs to the University of Nottingham.

  • In the Reading Room, University of Nottingham Library: Typescript Catalogue to item level, 11 pp
  • At the National Register of Archives, London: Typescript Catalogue to item level, 11 pp

Conditions Governing Use

COPYRIGHT: Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult. Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in advance in writing from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections (email mss-library@nottingham.ac.uk ). The Department will try to assist in identifying copyright owners but the responsibility for copyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the reader.

LANGUAGE: English

Custodial History

The records were given to the University Library in 1960, following the company's takeover.