KIRBY HALL, CASTLE HEDINGHAM, ESSEX, BODARGYE FARM, BROADOAK, CORNWALL, LIZZON FARM, POLPERRO, CORNWALL, PRIESTFIELDS FARM, CASTLE HEDINGHAM, ESSEX

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Consists of books of account 1860-1939; labour books 1903-1925; valuations 1904

Administrative / Biographical History

A member of the Philp family took possession of Lizzon Farm in about 1830. The farm (100 acres of poor soil with rock four inches below the surface) was held on a seven year lease. From 1876 to 1883, the family held Bodargye Farm, also on a seven year lease. In 1909, attracted by better prospects, the family moved to Priestfields Farm, which was part of an estate of 1,000 acres thought to have been owned at one time by the earls of Oxford. In 1863, the property was owned by the Nunn family and in 1870 by the Payne family, landlords to the Philp family until 1914. In 1923, the Philps terminated their lease and purchased the 460 acres of Kirby Hall, Headingham, Essex. The land is heavy clay; it was probably greatly affected by the advent of power ploughing and the Philp family owns one of the two sets of steam ploughing equipment still in use in Essex. Bodargye Farm was 140 acres, Kirby Hall was 460 acres and Lizzon Farm was 100 acres, Priestfields Farm was 385

Arrangement

  • 1 BOOKS OF ACCOUNT
  • 2 LABOUR BOOKS
  • 3 VALUATIONS

Conditions Governing Access

Available for consultation

Acquisition Information

Presented on photocopy loan 1967 May 5 by C. Philp (Acc no 412)

Other Finding Aids

A detailed catalogue is available at the Museum of English Rural Life

Conditions Governing Use

Please contact the Archivist

Subjects