• This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 197 P87
  • Dates of Creation
  • Physical Description
      2 boxes 0.032cubic metres

Scope and Content

Comprising: Orders of service 1960; Incumbents' records 1973-1994; Churchwardens records 1908-1970; Vestry and Parochial Church Council records 1892-1918; Auxiliary Organisations [1960s]-[1990s]; Other records [Late 19th cent-1983].

For records relating to the refurbishment of the chapel in the 1950s and 1960s for parochial use see P87/3/E.

Administrative / Biographical History

St Michael and All Angels was originally a chapel of ease in the parish of Darfield. The chapel originated in about 1650, built by Sir Edward Rodes, the lord of the manor and a colonel in the Parliamentary Army, near his house. It remained a place of nonconformist worship from that time until the early nineteenth century. In 1849 it was transferred to the Church of England and was reopened as a chapel in 1853. The chapel was refurbished in the 1950s and 1960s for parochial use.


The collection is made of six series:

P87/1: Registration, Church Services, and Worship

P87/2: Incumbent

P87/3: Churchwardens

P87/4: Vestry and Parochial Church Council

P87/5: Auxiliary Organisations

P87/10: Other Records

Access Information


Access will be granted to any accredited member of Doncaster Libraries

Related Material

A history of the Rodes family and of the chapel can be found in Joseph Hunter 'South Yorkshire', volume 2, 1830, pages 128–132