Records of the Chapel of the joint countiesï' lunatic Asylum, Abergavenny, later Pen-y-fal Hospital, 1853-1948.
Chapel of the joint counties' lunatic Asylum, Abergavenny, Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Chapel of the Joint counties' lunatic Asylum, Abergavenny was an integral part of the Hospital. The governing body appointed the Chaplain, who was a local clergyman of the Church of England and later of the Church in Wales. Some funerals were conducted by some priests of other denominations depending on the faith of the deceased. No burials have taken place on the chapel's own cemetery since 1948. Then the NHS became responsible for the hospital. The deceased patients were buried at the Abergavenny Municipal cemetery from 1948 onwards.
Arranged in chronological order.
Conditions Governing Access
No source recorded.
Compiled by Annette Strauch for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: Gwent Record Office, Chapel of the joint countiesï' lunatic Asylum, Abergavenny, Records, catalogue.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at Gwent Record Office.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records have been retained
Accruals are not expected