Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant National School was built in 1858 to educate both boys and girls and was originally known as the Green School. National schools were often known as "Church Schools" and affiliated with the local parish church.
As with many schools of this era it had separate entrances for boys and girls, and in 1900 had 100 children in attendance. In 1936 after The Hadow Report it lost all the pupils over the age of 11 to the Central School in Llanrhaeadr Ym Mochnant.
In 1947 there were 47 pupils registered, and it closed in 1965.
In 2013, the building is Grade II listed with Cadw Buildings ID; 81820.
It was sold to The Tanat Theatre Company for storage and rehearsals and converted into a Little Theatre to seat 70 in 2012 when the village hall was demolished.
This collection consists of 2 log books and 2 sets of minutes.
Location of original school
Street name- B4580
Post Code SY10 0DR
Grid Ref SJ125259
ED/SBD/23- School Board Records
CD/A/4/104- Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant school survey (July 1957)