Session minutes, 1763-1934; Collections and disbursements, 1764-1771; Marriages, 1764-1800; Baptisms, 1781-1884 and 1934; Burials, 1783-1836; Board of management minutes, 1909-1936; Communion roll, -1888-1934; Rathillet Cow Society minutes, 1864-1897; Luthrie Tract Society minutes, 1839-1902.
Records of Rathillet Burgher Church, United Presbyterian and United Free Church
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 227 CH3/1565
- Dates of Creation1763-1936
- Name of Creator
- Physical Description8 volumes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Burgher congregation of Rathillet was first established in 1762, following a petition to the Burgher Presbytery of Perth requesting sermon within the district of Rathillet. A church to house the congregation (which was later replaced in 1860) was erected in that same year and the first minister, George Thomson, was ordained in 1764. The church became part of the United Presbyterian Church in 1847. In the second half of the 19th century the local population was in decline which significantly affected church attendance. Following the union of the United Presbyterian Church and the Free Church of Scotland in 1900, when Rathillet became the United Free Church of Rathillet, the charge stood vacant and after unsuccessful attempts to secure a local union, was reduced to a preaching station.
In 1927 Rathillet was restored to full status, and following the union of the Church of Scotland and the United Free Church in 1929, Rathillet united with the Parish Church of Kilmany in 1934. After the union the charge continued under the name of Kilmany and both churches remained in use for public worship. Kilmany was later linked in 1956 with Flisk, but this arrangement was terminated in 1971 in favour of union between Flisk, Kilmany and also Creich, under the name of Creich, Flisk and Kilmany. A further link was established between the united parish and Monimail in 1983. The kirk session presently sits within the Presbytery of St Andrews.
Sources: Robert Small, The History of the Congregations of the United Presbyterian Church 1733-1900 (Edinburgh, 1904); John Alexander Lamb, The Fasti of the United Free Church of Scotland 1900-1929 (Edinburgh, 1956); Hew Scott and others (ed.),Fasti Ecclesiae Scoticanae, vols. 9-11 (Edinburgh, 1915-2000).
Conditions Governing Access
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Lesley Doig and modified by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.