Papers of St Winifred's School, Llanfairfechan

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Material relating to St Winifred's School, Llanfairfechan, consisting of: 

  • Salaries and wages records, 1927-1969
  • Minute book of the school committee, with enclosed file of correspondence, etc, 1930-1942
  • File of correspondence, etc, relating to bursaries, 1968
  • Inventory of furnishings and equipment, compiled by Messrs. John Pritchard & Co., Bangor, 1968
  • Schedules of furnishings and equipment allocated to other schools of the Woodard Trust, 1968
  • Sale particulars of the school furnishings and equipment, for sale by auction on the premises by Messrs. John Pritchard & Co., 1968
  • Bundle of brochures, staff list, etc, c. 1945

Administrative / Biographical History

St Winifred's School, Llanfairfechan, north Wales, was founded in 1887 by Eleanor Douglas Pennant (d. 1919), a daughter of the then Lord Penrhyn of Penrhyn Castle. This public school for girls began at buildings at Garth and High Street, Bangor, moving to a site near the centre of the town of Llanfairfechan in September 1922. Closed circa 1968, its former location is now occupied by housing known as St. Winifred's Close.

Arrangement

Material is arranged in chronological order and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts .

Conditions Governing Access

Open to all users

Acquisition Information

Material was donated by Mr. H.W.A. Wilkes of Beaumaris, the former bursar of St Winifred's, School.

Note

Description compiled by Anne Lenaghan, May 2002.

Other Finding Aids

Item level word-processed list is available at the Archives Department, University of Wales, Bangor. Reference numbers: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts: 28546-28573, 32420

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.