Contains: notebook of engagements for Dann-Lewis magic shows 1888-1897; photographs of Dann family c1880; photographs of Reading, Tilehurst and Wokingham c1930's; glass plate negatives 1880's-1930's of Reading, Caversham, Mapledurham, Sulham, Bradfield, University College Reading, Wellington College, Mortimer, Sonning and Wokingham
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In 1856 Mrs Dann opened a shop at 35 Broad Street, Reading. Social conventions dictated that Mrs Dann's husband Francis should give his name to the business. Although portraiture provided much of the early business, engagements also included local scenes and landmarks, pictures of outlying villages, important buildings etc. Further premises were acquired at 744 Oxford Road by the late 19th century.
On Mrs Dann's retirement the business was taken over by her granddaughter who had grown up in the family business. Her marriage to Mr Henry Lewis led to the business being renamed Dann-Lewis. By 1903 the business had moved from Broad Street to London Street. When Henry Lewis died, his son Walter ran the business at 27 Argyle Street, until its closure some time after the Second World War.
P1 Notebook of engagements
DL1-9 Glass Plate Negatives
Conditions Governing Access
Open for consultation
Accession number DX322
Compiled by Caroline Gould, 18 December 2002
Other Finding Aids
A detailed catalogue is available at the Museum of English Rural Life
Conditions Governing Use
Please contact the Archivist