Cambrian Institution for the Deaf and Dumb

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

E/Cam 1/1-3 Minute books of the Governing Committee

E/Cam 2 Reports

E/Cam 3-4 Accounts

E/Cam 5/1-6 Letter books

E/Cam 6 Photographs

E/Cam 7/1-7/2 Other records

Administrative / Biographical History

The Institution was set up in Aberystwyth and was funded by public subscription. In 1850 it moved to Swansea, housed at first in premises in Picton Place and later in Stanley Terrace, Mount Pleasant. In 1953 the building was taken over by the local education authority, Swansea Borough and Pen-y-Bryn Special School was established (see E/PB Spec).

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records received by the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained

Accruals

Accruals are not expected.