Papers and Books relating to Bangor Diocese

Scope and Content

Records relating to Bangor Diocese, 1640-1972, including year books, 1952-1972; printed books, 1696-1957; journal and notebooks, 1801-1895; pedigrees, deeds and documents relating to church lands in the parish of Llanllechid, Caernarfonshire, 1640-1831; and miscellaneous papers, [?1770]-1929.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Anglican Diocese of Bangor covers the whole of the north-western quarter of Wales, covering the counties of Anglesey, Caernarfonshire, Merionethshire and the northern portion of Montgomeryshire. The diocese was created in the mid 6th century and was subdivided into archdeaconries, rural deaneries and parishes. It is made up of two archdeaconries: Bangor (and Anglesey) and Meirionnydd, with seven and six rural deaneries respectively.


Arranged into the following: printed books; journals, notebooks, etc.; pedigrees; documents relating to title; and miscellaneous.

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

Source not recorded


Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used to compile this description: Caernarfon Record Office, Papers and Books Re Bangor Diocese/ Papurau a Llyfrau yn ymwneud ag Esgobiaeth Bangor, catalogue; Esgobaeth Bangor Diocese Homepage ( viewed 1 July 2004.

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available in Caernarfon Record Office, the National Register of Archives and the National Library of Wales.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records deposited at Caernarfon Record Office have been retained.


Accruals are not expected

Related Material

The main archive of diocesan records is held in the National Library of Wales.

Geographical Names