Powell Duffryn Workmen's Hospital, Aberbargoed

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Balance sheet 1938.

Administrative / Biographical History

In 1909 a cottage hospital was built at Aberbargoed by the Powell Duffryn Steam Coal Company, Limited. It was intended to provide hospital facilities for men employed by the company in the Rhymney Valley. The hospital was maintained by the men themselves who made regular contributions towards its upkeep. It was equipped with wards accommodating 14 beds in total, a Surgeon's Room and Receiving Room, Operating Room, Matron's Room, Nurses' Room and Staff Dining Room. In the basement was a large Ambulance Room, and X-rays . The premises also had a Laundry, Mortuary and Post-mortum Rooms. The hospital was opened on December 10th 1909 by the then Lord Tredegar. In 1914 the company built a further larger hospital at Aberaman to provide similar facilities for their employees in the Aberdare Valley.

Conditions Governing Access

Access unrestricted unless stated otherwise.

Other Finding Aids

A hardcopy list is available in the searchroom.

Conditions Governing Use

A photocopying service is available. Contact repository for details.

No publication without written permission from the Archivist.

Geographical Names