The majority of the content within this collection relates to Edward Allen Morris' life (including his marriage, World War Two, and his involvement with St Mary's Church in Twickenham) and his family history research. This is represented largely in the form of copies of letters written by him, and original letters written to him. There are also photographs and paper cuttings. Also among the collection are items relating to the Morris Bakery, which was located on Church Street, Twickenham. There is a small number of related photographs, account books and recipe books.
Morris Family Collection
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 358 DC17
- Dates of Creation1800 - 1898
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description3 boxes
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Edward Allan Morris, known as Ted to friends and relatives, died aged 87 in 1997, in his home in Lebanon Park, Twickenham. He attended Hampton Grammar School and was then employed in the Civil Service as a Clerical Officer. In 1928 he joined the Crown Agents, then known as the Dominions and Colonies office. He actively participated in the bell-ringing at St. Mary Church, Twickenham, where he met Phyllis Guise with whom he married in 1937. During the Second World War, specifically between 1942 and 1946, he served in the RAF, eventually becoming Squadron leader and was awarded a King's commendation in 1946. He re-joined the Crown Agent sometime after the war and was promoted to Assistant Crown Agent in 1964, and promoted again to Crown Agent in 1968. He retired from the organisation in 1971. In 1961 he was awarded an OBE and in 1971 he was awarded the CMG. Morris was an active community member in the boroughs of Richmond and Twickenham. He was president of the York House Society, Vice-president of the Twickenham Local History Society and member of many other clubs including the Marylebone Cricket Club, Twickenham Club, The RAF Club, Harlequin Football club Ltd., and Hampton Wick Royal Cricket Club. His connection with the borough of Twickenham can be traced back two generations to his grandfather who opened the Morris Bakery on Church Street, Twickenham. His father went on with the family business, but neither of his children wanted to keep it. Edward was born there in 1910 and was the sixth of seven siblings.
The Morris Family Collection is arranged in seven series:
- DC17/1 Church activity, 1910-1996
- DC17/2 Crown Agency, 1957-1996
- DC17/3 Edward Morris' works, 1991-1992
- DC17/4 Correspondence, 1935-1996
- DC17/5 Memberships, 1929-1997
- DC17/6 Morris family history, 1700-1996
- DC17/7 Publication cuttings, 1948-1997
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is open for access and can be viewed at Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive. No appointment is necessary to view archival material.
The opening times and address for Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive can be found online at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies
If you would like further information about accessing this collection or have any other queries, please contact Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive through any of the contact methods listed at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies
Other Finding Aids
A more detailed catalogue of this collection can be found online at https://richmond.spydus.co.uk/spydus.html
Location of Originals
For any copies held in the collection (for example Morris' copies of his outgoing correspondence) the location of the original items is unknown.