Records of Llandovery Borough and Borough Council, Carmarthenshire, 1598-1969, including Borough charter 1598, a copy of Llandovery minute book, 1798-1827; Llandovery Borough Council minute books, 1878-1969; committee meeting minute book, 1907-1957; ledgers, 1942-1965; accounts, 1836-1957; rate books, 1836-1899; register of buildings for religious worship; and maps, 1841-1886.
Llandovery Borough Council Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 211 LLANDOVERY BOROUGH
- Dates of Creation1598 -1969
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.4 cubic metres; 70 volumes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Boroughs obtained charters from the monarch and the lord of the manor. The principal officers of Llandovery Borough were the recorder, the bailiff and the town clerk. In the late 19th century, the borough was re-incorparted as Llandovery Borough Council; in 1974 it was abolished. Some of the Council's papers relate to buildings of religious worship in Llandovery.
Arranged into the following: Llandovery Borough Council minute books; committee meeting minute books; ledgers; and miscellaneous.
Conditions Governing Access
Transferred by Mr M. Philip Williams, Town Clerk , Mrs Perry, Mayor and Mayoress of Llandovery and deposited by Mr Hodgeson of Llangadog per Mr Chris Delaney, County Museums Officer between 1978 and 1990.
Compiled by Annette Strauch for ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of the description: Carmarthenshire Archives Service, Catalogue of Llandovery Borough Council Records; Collis, Kim, The West Glamorgan Archive Service, A Guide to the Collections (Swansea, 1998); Arber-Cooke, Alfred Theodore, Pages from the history of Llandovery (Llandovery, 1994).
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at Carmarthenshire Archives Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records transferred to Carmarthenshire Archives Service have been retained.
Accruals are not expected
Location of Originals
Location of original of borough minute book not recorded.