Kenfig Hill Ecclesiastical Parish Records

Scope and Content

St Theodore: Baptism registers, 1884-1956; marriage register, 1892-1964, 2005-2016; banns register, 1891-1976. St Coleman: Marriage register, 2007-2009.

Administrative / Biographical History

The foundation stone of St Theodore's was laid on the 19th September 1889 by Miss Emily Talbot of Margam Castle and the church was dedicated by the Right Reverend Richard Lewis, Bishop of Llandaff, on 10th June 1889. Previously services had been held at Bryndu School. Kenfig Hill was then in the Parish of Newcastle, Bridgend, and remained so until 1923. The church was built in memory of Miss Emily Talbot's brother, Theodore, who died after a hunting accident in 1876. St Theodore's Church is dedicated to Saint Theodore of Tarsus, former Archbishop of Canterbury.

Marking the opening of St Colman's Church in 1925 the Glamorgan Gazette described the building as 'commodious handsomely designed, and well equipped; and commands an uninterrupted view of the Bristol Channel. Built at an approximate cost of one thousand five hundred pounds. It is planned to serve the double purpose of holding Church services and also meetings or entertainment'. During February 2007 St Colman's Church was consecrated allowing marriages to be conducted in the church for the first time. The church closed during 2012.

Arrangement

Chronological within record series.

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Deposited by Secretary of Parochial Church Council. St Theodore marriage register, 2005-2016 (P183CW/2/2) received from Bridgend Register Office, May 2018

Other Finding Aids

A detailed catalogue is available

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

Good condition

Archivist's Note

Compiled by H Thomas and updated by Hannah Price for Glamorgan Archives, with reference to the Parish of Kenfig Hill website.

Conditions Governing Use

Normal Glamorgan Archives conditions apply.

Appraisal Information

All records which meet the collection policy of Glamorgan Archives have been retained.

Custodial History

The records remained in the custody of the depositor until transferred to Glamorgan Archives.

Accruals

Accruals are possible.