The Bute Docks Company Cardiff Registers

Scope and Content

Registers of the Bute Public Graving Dock

Records name of vessel and place of origin, dimensions including length, breadth and draught of water, date of order to admit vessel, dates vessel entered and left the graving dock, number of tides to be charged and extras such as use of materials with associated charges. A final remarks section provides details of the work carried out such as repair and painting

A graving dock or dry dock was used for the underwater cleaning or repair of a ship

Registers produced by William Lewis, printer and stationer, Duke Street, Cardiff

Administrative / Biographical History

The Bute Docks Company was constituted under the Bute Docks (Transfer) Act, 25th June 1886. By the same Act, Cardiff Docks and Railways connected therewith were transferred from the Marquis of Bute and others to this company from 31st December 1886. The Company had its headquarters at the Pierhead Building.

Under the Cardiff Railway Act of 6th August 1897, the name of the Company was changed to Cardiff Railway Company. This company was amalgamated with Great Western Railway Company from 1st January 1922.



Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Donated by a private individual, July 2018

Other Finding Aids

A detailed catalogue is available

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

Good condition

Archivist's Note

Compiled by H Thomas for Glamorgan Archives, with reference to the National Archives website ( viewed 6 Aug 2018

Conditions Governing Use

Normal Glamorgan Archives conditions apply.

Appraisal Information

All records which meet the collection policy of Glamorgan Archives have been retained.

Custodial History

During the 1970s approximately 40 registers were held in storage at Cardiff Docks. The bulk of the records were disposed of and two registers were saved from destruction by the donor


Accruals are not expected