Correspondence of Mountstuart Elphinstone: voting for John Elphinstone, 13th Lord Elphinstone at the Peers Election

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 59 Mss Eur F88/182
  • Alternative Id.
      (ark) ark:/81055/vdc_100000001006.0x0002a7
  • Dates of Creation
      Mar 1857-Apr 1857
  • Language of Material
  • Physical Description
      1 file 51 folios

Scope and Content

With letters from: Lord Stair [North Hamilton Dalrymple, 9th Earl of Stair]; Lord Belhaven [Sir Robert Montgomery Hamilton of Wishaw, 8th Lord Belhaven and Stenton]; Lord Blantyre [Charles Stuart, 12th Lord Blantyre]; Lord Haddington [Thomas Hamilton, 9th Earl of Haddington]; Lord Roseberry [John Archibald Primose, 4th Earl of Roseberry]; Lord Somerville [Kenelm Somerville, 16th Lord Somerville]; Lord Rothes [George William Evelyn Leslie, 16th Earl of Rothes]; Lord Falkland [Lucius Bentinck Cary, 10th Viscount Falkland]; Lord Galloway [Randolph Stewart, 9th Earl of Galloway]; Lord Traquair [Charles Stuart, 8th Earl of Traquair]; Lord Polwarth [Henry Francis Scott, 7th Lord Polwarth]; Lord Morton [George Sholto Douglas, 17th Earl of Morton]; Countess Margaret de Flahualt de la Billardrie; and Lord Eglinton and Winton [Archibald William Montgomerie, 13th Earl of Eglinton and 1st Earl of Winton]. Also includes draft letters from Mountstuart Elphinstone. There is also an archivist note explaining these letters had been found loose and was reconstituted by the archivist in a temporary bundle

Access Information


Not Public Record(s)