Miscellaneous Private Letters to Mountstuart Elphinstone. No. 10

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 59 Mss Eur F88/263
  • Alternative Id.
      (ark) ark:/81055/vdc_100000001006.0x000345
  • Dates of Creation
      Dec 1820-Jul 1821
  • Language of Material
      English French Persian
  • Physical Description
      1 volume 243 folios

Scope and Content

With index. Written to Mountstuart Elphinstone during his Governorship of Bombay. Includes letters and enclosures from: Francis Whitworth Russell; Lieutenant Colonel William D Cleiland; Dr Andrew Jukes; James Williams; Captain George Forster Sadler; Colonel Andrew Aitchison; John Jefferys; Christopher [Traherne?]; William Halford Hamilton; Captain J Caulfield; Major John Snodgrass; Richard Thomas Goodwin; J Graham Stuart; JH Crawford; Captain Hutchison; Captain G Davies; Saville Marriott; F De Mierre; James Stuart; William Butterworth Bayley; Christopher Kane; Francis Rawdon Hastings, 1st Marquess of Hastings; Mrs Rose Riddell; Captain C Swanston; Professor Erasum Rask; R Boyd; Charles Norris; Henry Gray; Bishop of Calcutta; Major Hamilton Tovey [Tennent]; Captain Charles W Elwood; Major G Willis; Charles Theophilus Metcalfe, Baron Metcalfe; Captain J Fearon; Captain JF Dunsterville; George Corsellis; Captain Robert E Burrowes; Captain William Miles; R Barnwall; Colonel A Wilson; Lieutenant C [Fancourt?]; John A Dunlop; Lieutenant G Grant; Captain JD Ballantine; Chevalier Simonet de Maisonnevre; Lieutenant William Carter; Captain JW Graham; Captain Edward H Bellasis; James Bruce Simson; Archibald Robertson; General Lionel Smith; Major William Colebrooke; John Romer; Sir Robert Townsend Farquhar; William Henry Wathen; Thomas Norris and Mrs E Hutchinson. Folio 80 is in Persian (items in Persian are awaiting further investigation to determine their exact language) and Folios 182-183 are in French

Access Information


Not Public Record(s)