Miscellaneous Private Letters to Mountstuart Elphinstone. No. 12

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 59 Mss Eur F88/265
  • Alternative Id.
      (ark) ark:/81055/vdc_100000001006.0x000347
  • Dates of Creation
      Aug 1821-May 1822
  • Language of Material
      English French Italian
  • Physical Description
      1 volume 259 folios

Scope and Content

With index. Written to Mountstuart Elphinstone during his Governorship of Bombay. Includes letters and enclosures from: Lieutenant MacLeod, Captain Archibald Robertson; Dr James Taylor; Dr Andrew Jukes; Stephen Babington; Major Hamilton Tovey [Tennent]; Captain JW Graham; Lieutenant Colonel David Leighton; Dr Robert Hartley Kennedy; Lieutenant James Oliphant; J Henderson; James B Frazer; Captain William Monteith; Colonel R Houstoun; Major Ballantine; Dr Joseph Glen; Juliaō José da Silva Vieira; Captain J Love; Major Vans Kennedy; Paul Mariott Wynch; Francisco Diogo [Vellery?]; Captain St John Blacker; James Williams; Major J Sutherland; Captain A MacDonald; William Erskine; Captain Robert E Burrowes; Mrs S Lushington; Sir David Ochterlony; Captain A Morse; Lieutenant JB Jervis; Professor Erasum Rask; Captain Henry Willock; Richard Jenkins; Major Edward H Bellasis; John Wedderburn; Captain William Bruce; Colonel Cleiland; Sir Henry Blackwood; Edward Eden Elliot; Captain R Taylor; Colonel Lincoln Stanhope; James Joseph Sparrow; Major W Hull; John A Dunlop; JM Correa; Colonel B Kennett; John S Harriott; Conde de Rio Pardo; Major J Hickes; Mousad Ali; Colonel David Prother; Edward Ironside; Major William Miles; and Gerald Wellesley. Folios 93-94 and 107-108 are in French and Italian. Folios 8 to 13 are loose

Access Information


Not Public Record(s)