Parish records of New Malton, St Leonard

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1600-1653, 1662-1956 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1782-1783); register of marriages, 1600-1653, 1662-1947; register of burials, 1600-1653, 1662-1893 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the year 1786); register of banns, 1754-1762, 1856-1941; register of services, 1938-1947; benefice income correspondence, 1754; charity notes, 1894; churchwardens’ records, including accounts 1863-1922, briefs, 1680-1685, restoration fund souvenir recipe book, 1907, and fabric papers, 1766, 1810, 1856, 1869, 1905-1957; records of incumbents, including parsonage house mortgage, 1865, and papers relating to the closure and disposal of the church, 1969-1970; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1863-1957, account, 1956, Missionary fund accounts, 1935-1957, magazines, 1917-1920, and a brochure on St Leonard's with a covering letter, 1971; photographs of interior and exterior of church, n.d. (before 1905).

Administrative / Biographical History

New Malton St Leonard was originally one of two chapels of ease within the parish of Old Malton. It was first mentioned c.1150 when it was given, together with St Michael’s Chapel, to the Gilbertine Priory of Old Malton. Both chapels were situated in the new settlement built around a mile distant from the village of ‘old’ Malton, which had been burned in 1138, giving them their designation. The parish church at this time was St Mary’s, Old Malton.

The two chapelries were made into separate ecclesiastical parishes in 1855 and the single benefice formed of St Mary’s, St Michael’s and St Leonard’s was also separated into three. In 1928 the benefices of St Michael and St Leonard were united and in 2013 the united benefice was joined with Old Malton to form the new benefice of Malton and New Malton.

St Leonard’s Church dates to the twelfth century. The tower was built in the fifteenth century and originally had a stone spire, although this was later replaced by one made of timber and slate. The church was restored in 1907 by architect Charles Hodgson Fowler, at which time the south walls of the nave and chancel were entirely rebuilt and the windows replaced.

St Leonard’s was closed in 1969 and gifted to the Roman Catholic Church in 1971 as a gesture of ecumenical goodwill. It is now known as the Roman Catholic Church of St Leonard and St Mary. Today the area that formerly made up the parish of New Malton St Leonard is known simply as the parish of New Malton within the benefice of Malton and Old Malton.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1965 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1970, 1984 and 1991.

Note

New Malton St Leonard was originally one of two chapels of ease within the parish of Old Malton. It was first mentioned c.1150 when it was given, together with St Michael’s Chapel, to the Gilbertine Priory of Old Malton. Both chapels were situated in the new settlement built around a mile distant from the village of ‘old’ Malton, which had been burned in 1138, giving them their designation. The parish church at this time was St Mary’s, Old Malton.

The two chapelries were made into separate ecclesiastical parishes in 1855 and the single benefice formed of St Mary’s, St Michael’s and St Leonard’s was also separated into three. In 1928 the benefices of St Michael and St Leonard were united and in 2013 the united benefice was joined with Old Malton to form the new benefice of Malton and New Malton.

St Leonard’s Church dates to the twelfth century. The tower was built in the fifteenth century and originally had a stone spire, although this was later replaced by one made of timber and slate. The church was restored in 1907 by architect Charles Hodgson Fowler, at which time the south walls of the nave and chancel were entirely rebuilt and the windows replaced.

St Leonard’s was closed in 1969 and gifted to the Roman Catholic Church in 1971 as a gesture of ecumenical goodwill. It is now known as the Roman Catholic Church of St Leonard and St Mary. Today the area that formerly made up the parish of New Malton St Leonard is known simply as the parish of New Malton within the benefice of Malton and Old Malton.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1991.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, marriages and burials, 1600-1885, and banns, 1856-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 727-727, 1762).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 26.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Related Material

For register of confirmation candidates at St Michael's and St Leonard's, Malton, 1894-1996, see the parish records of New Malton, St Michael.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193