Hill Congregational Chapel, Swansea, records

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Photograph of chapel deacons, 1931

Records relating to the organ

Records relating to the history of Hill Congregational Church and to the celebration of church anniversaries

Photographs of Hill Congregational Church

Records relating to the Trollope family, members of Hill Congregational Church

Further records relating to the history of Hill Congregational Church and to the history of nonconformity in Swansea

Administrative / Biographical History

Hill Congregational Chapel began as a Sunday School established on North Hill Road, Mount Pleasant, Swansea on 5 May 1881. It was formed as an English-speaking offshoot of Ebenezer Welsh Independent Church, Ebenezer Street, Swansea. It was constituted as a separate church on 26 April 1882 and a new chapel was built in 1898. Following the formation of the United Reformed Church in 1972, it joined the new denomination and became known as Hill United Reformed Church.

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.

Note

Compiled by Andrew Dulley, West Glamorgan Archive Service.

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

Appraised and duplicates and ephemera removed. The majority of the records were retained.

Accruals

Accruals are possible.