The collection consists of glass negatives of photographs taken by F.H. May, a professional photographer in the 1920's. Material relates to various places in North Wales and features churches, chapels, castles and other local landmarks. Locations featured are Aberdaron, Abersoch, Cerrigydrudion, Clynnog, Colwyn Bay, Conwy, Creuddyn, Cricieth, Denbigh, Harlech, Llandudno, Llaniestyn, Llanystumdwy, Nefyn, Puffin Island, Rhydyclafdy and Tudweiliog. There is also a card index of descriptions, in alphabetical order, relating to the negatives.
Photographic collection featuring North Wales
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The photographs were taken by F.H. May, a professional photographer, based at Pwllheli on the Lleyn peninsula in the county of Gwynedd, formerly Caernarfonshire.
Material has been arranged firstly into sections according to its location in the former county units of Caernarfonshire, Denbighshire and Merionethshire and alphabetically within those sections. It has been incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts.
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users
Description compiled by Anne Lenaghan, July 2001
Other Finding Aids
Item level word processed list is available at the Department of Manuscripts of the University of Wales, Bangor. Reference number: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts: 20201-20396.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.