Rhyl Parish Records

Scope and Content

On the 23rd May 1844, the townships of Rhyl and Brynhedydd were transferred from the parish of Rhuddlan to the new parish of Rhyl; and more land was transferred from the parish of Rhuddlan to Rhyl shortly after the opening of the district church of St. Ann in 1896.

The records of individual ecclesiastical parishes include registers of baptisms, marriages and burials, as well as records of the churchwardens and Parochial Church Councils, parish charities, schools, clubs and societies.

Parish records were deposited at the Clwyd Record Office, following an agreement of 1976 between the Church in Wales and the Welsh County Councils. Following a decision by the Church in Wales to group parish collections by deanery, the records of Rhyl were transferred from Flintshire Record Office to Denbighshire Record Office in June 2009.

Scope and content: Records of Rhyl parish, 1836-1995, including registers, 1841-1995; preacher's books, 1890-1958; service registers, 1890-1989; offertory books, 1880-1914; benefice records, 1836-1937; tithe records, 1879; parsonage records, 1858-1965; churchwarden's records, 1856-1993, including church cemetery grave registers, 1891-1980; Parochial Church Council records, 1890-1973; records of church affairs, 1912-1994; records of church organisations, 1864-1899; vestry minutes, 1869-1934; records of charities, 1853-1933; school records, 1857-1955; and miscellaneous, 1851-1947.


Arranged into two key groups; Ecclesiastical Records and Civil Records

Access Information

This collection is open for research. It is advisable to book in advance, for details and opening hours see http://archives.denbighshire.gov.uk/visit-us/. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Denbighshire Archive Service will advise where this is the case.

Geographical Names