Minutes, 1843-1963; Deacons' court minutes, 1892-1896, 1908-1946; Congregational meetings, minutes, 1891; Baptismal register, 1843-1885; Communion rolls, 1873-1916, 1926-1972; Girls' Auxiliary, minutes, 1911-1942; Property register, 1960-1967; Proclamation register, 1934-1977.
Records of St Andrews Martyrs Free Kirk Session, United Free and Church of Scotland
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
A Free Church congregation at St Andrews was established immediately after the Disruption in 1843. At latest on the union of the Free Church of Scotland the United Presbyterian Church in 1900, the charge became St Andrews: Martyrs, in the United Free Church of Scotland, within the Presbytery of St Andrews and Synod of Fife. On the union of the United Free Church and the Church of Scotland in 1929, the charge's designation remained as it was. In 1993 it was linked with Boarhills and Dunino.
Sources: John Alexander Lamb, The Fasti of the United Free Church of Scotland 1900-1929 (Edinburgh, 1956); W. Ewing, Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843-1900 (Edinburgh, 1914), Vol II; Hew Scott and others (ed.), Fasti Ecclesiae Scoticanae, vols. 9-11 (Edinburgh, 1961-2000).
Conditions Governing Access
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.