Records of Danygraig Independent Church, Alltwen

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

D/D Ind 43/1/1-76 Annual reports, 1909-1999

D/D Ind 43/2/1-2 Minutes and other administrative papers, 1909-2002

D/D Ind 43/3/1-3 Accounts, 1909-2002

D/D Ind 43/4/1-3 Church membership records, 1929-1995

D/D Ind 43/5/1-2 Records relating to marriages, 1911-1994

D/D Ind 43/6/1-4 Records relating to chapel affairs and events, 1920-2002

D/D Ind 43/7/1-2 Photographs, n.d.

Administrative / Biographical History

Danygraig was a Welsh Independent chapel situated on Edward Street, Alltwen, Glamorgan. The cause began in 1893 when a Sunday School was set up by members of Capel yr Alltwen in Cilybebyll Infants' School. In 1909 a congregation was formed and the building of the chapel began. It was opened on 13 October 1910. The chapel was closed due to structural problems in 2002 and has since been sold.

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.

Note

Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Religion - Nonconformist - Welsh Congregationalist, catalogue; West Glamorgan Archive Service, Nonconformist - Independent - Records Of Mynydd-Bach Chapel, Swansea, catalogue; NLW, Capeli database, viewed 7 September 2005.

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained

Accruals

Accruals are not expected

Related Material

Further records of Mynydd-bach Chapel are West Glamorgan Archive Service, D/D Ind 24. Further records of Bethel Welsh Congregational Chapel are West Glamorgan Archive Service, D/D Ind 12.