The collection is of scientific importance in documenting experiments of international significance. Additionally, it reflects the traditional activities of the mussel fishermen themselves.
Records of the Centre for Environment, Fisheries and Aquaculture Science, Benarth Road, Conwy
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 2008 CD3
- Dates of Creation1916-1994
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description20 boxes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In December 1999 the Conwy Laboratory closed after approximately ninety years of pioneering research and development into fish and shellfish aquaculture. The laboratory's foundation came about following the building of mussel purification tanks by Conwy Corporation in 1913, in an attempt to improve the quality of Conwy mussels, which had been at the centre of several serious infections.
In 1918 responsibility for the tanks was passed to the Board of Agriculture and Fisheries with Dr R Dodgson as Director. The house, Castle Bank, was acquired for use as office and laboratory accommodation, and it was here that Dr Dodgson conducted his research into the purification and culture of oysters and mussels, in the 1920s and 1930s.
This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.
Donated to Conwy Archive Service in 1999, when the Conwy Laboratory closed.